Goodman Games
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Goodman Games Powered by DriveThruRPG



Home » Goodman Games » Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG » Reviews
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG $24.99
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
45 26
9 7
1 0
0 0
0 0
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Click to view
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 13:42:53

Awesome RPG! I originally thought DCC was merely a retro-clone of original D&D, but after reading the core book I learned that DCC is the best realization of the 1E AD&D Appendix N in RPG form. I currently play and run a campaign in 5E, but I'm trying to get my players to at least try a one-shot of DCC. The things I love about DCC: the artwork is the best, bar-none for any fantasy RPG book; the writing is concise, easy to understand, and engaging (as much as I love 5E there have been sections of the core books that put me to sleep); magic is mysterious, somewhat uncertain, and potentially corrupting; the 0-level funnel looks very fun and filled with action; player characters have humble beginnings and are unlikely to be superpowered in ability scores; character classes are simple; luck as an ability score adds an interesting element to rolls; the critical fumble and critical success tables are fun; the dice chain is an interesting mechanic; and finally, player characters are vulnerable (in 5E it's really hard for a player character to die).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Norbert P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2018 13:19:36

Old skool with a twist of new skool! see my youtube review of this game....

DCC review: https://youtu.be/so4UyNgD0Zg GM screen for DCC: https://youtu.be/9Yy53t--uOw



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/03/2017 19:24:21

"GLORY & GOLD WON BY SORCERY & SWORD"

Dungeon Crawl Classics Role Playing Game (DCC) by Goodman Games is a truly remarkable RPG. If you see it on the shelf your first thought may be, "holy crap, that book is huge, that game has got to be bloated (or insert other term for a "big" game)". If you get past that initial shock though, DCC RPG will surprise you. It's actually quite rules-light. DCC favors an old-school feel of rulings rather than rules. What makes the book huge is how the spell system works.

See, casting spells in DCC is a big deal. The second paragraph in the magic chapter sums up the feel perfectly. "Summoning magical energies is arduous, expensive, and dangerous. No wizard does it lightly. As a result, there are no mundane magics, no spells used simply to light a corridor, for example. Use a torch, fool; it is much safer!" Each spell has an expansive table because you make a spell check and the result determines that instance's effects. Basically, while you know magic missile produces missiles of....magic, whether you get one mote of arcane energy or turn into a machine gun of magical onslaught depends on your casting check (roll) on that turn. Now, this is quite an oversimplification of the casting system but what I am trying to stress is the book totals more than 476 pages. 174 pages of that are spells!

Okay, so the book is big. Well, if you want to learn the general mechanics, character options, equipment, and combat rules then those are all contained within 91 pages. Imagine that, less than 100 pages and you have more than a general understanding of the game. Cool? Cool!

Enough about the "size" of the book. Let's get into some of the other awesome bits about DCC RPG.

Wanna play a completely gonzo game starting out as peasants who tromp into a dungeon and are destroyed by droves? Awesome, that's just what the DCC 0-Level funnel was designed for. Basically you roll up a (nearly) randomly Player Character and head into the dungeon. Actually you roll up a bunch of 0-levels (probably between 3-4 depending on the number of players and the needs of the adventure) and descend into the abyss.

What do these PCs look like? Well, they have some ability scores (including a Luck stat, isn't that awesome? Basically how Lucky you are and you can "burn" luck to help you when you are in need of some extra awesomeness!), some hit points, a measly amount of coin (they are peasants usually), a randomly determined piece of equipment, an occupation (and hey, the occupation may choose your race like Elf, Halfling, or Dwarf. More on this later). Your occupation also gives you one weapon and training in that weapon plus some trade goods!

Classes in DCC RPG are a little different than modern D&D like games. Humans get a choice of Cleric ("the militant servant of a god"), Thief, Warrior, or Wizard. Each of these classes has their own flavor and way of interacting in the adventuring world. Demi-Human, Dwarf, Elf, and Halfling immediately enter into their own racial class. The Dwarf is very similar to the Warrior but with its own flair. The Halfling is kinda like a combination of Thief and a little Warrior with some Halfling specific abilities as well. The Elf is a magic user that can also be pretty decent with a weapon as well. Sorta like a combo of Warrior and Wizard but...only in certain ways.

Changing gears now, Goodman Games set out with the goal of producing a one-book RPG so everything you need as a Judge (the DCC RPG term for Game Master) is including in this single volume as well. Things like Quests, Judges Rules, Magic Items, and Monsters are all inside the book. Also, as a Judge Goodman Games through in a couple of adventures to help you get the feel of the game. The 4th printing of DCC includes a 0-Level funnel and an adventure for characters of levels 1-3.

I could go on and on about the DCC RPG book but really, you should pick it up and give it a read!

How about in play? What's it like?

I've ran two 0-Level funnels. One in which the characters stayed 0-Level and another where the characters leveled up part way through and became 1st level characters because I wanted to get a taste for what 1st level characters are like. Both times I ran DCC I used the Sailors on the Starless Sea adventure by Harley Stroh (buy here or here). I'll review this adventure sometime in the future but it's awesome!

The game is wacky and zany! DCC RPG uses a dice chain rather than a large amount of modifiers. On the dice chain are dice that folks may not be used to (Zocchi dice like d14, d16, d24, etc.) but DCC RPG includes conversions for people who don't want to buy more dice (who doesn't want that) or you can use the awesomely available Crawler's Companion App (available in tons of places by Purple Sorcerer). Anyway, between the randomness of dice, the off-the-wall mentality of DCC RPG and Goodman Games' reliance and stressing of Appendix N, DCC RPG is a fantastic experience that is sure to rock your game table.

I'm trying to not gush on and on about DCC RPG but seriously, it's a good time. You should check it out!

Okay, I can't stop myself. Wanna know more about DCC RPG? You should join up with the DCC Community on Google Plus (G+) or the Goodman Games Forum.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Doug B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2017 12:50:08

A beautiful RPG that schluffs off the excess baggage that weighs down some other fantasy RPG's. It presents a fun, dynamic system that makes play exciting with wonderful results designed to inject that feel you had when you first dove into RPG's. Very simple to use, yet complex enough to spark the imagination. The system is free of the things that bog down an overly crunchy system and boils it down, leaving the joy of role-playing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Benjamin K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/09/2016 13:27:22

My favorite system. Easy to teach and has alot of fun random charts. Also community support is great



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Samuel H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2016 15:19:14

Dungeon Crawl Classics is a brutal, meticulous, whip-smart, cross-grained, purposefully derivative and sublimely innovative achievement in fantasy rpgs. It is the Dwarf Fortress of fantasy tabletop game: it makes Losing Fun. I don't think it's the only fantasy rpg I'll ever need, but it is now, and may it forever be, the Heart of every rpg I ever Judge again.

NOTABLE QUOTES

Fear no rule. I know you will homebrew this game...such is as it should be...

Make your world mysterious by making it small...when a five mile journey becomes an adventure, you'll have succeeded in bringing life to your world...

If a magic item can be sold or bought for 5,000 gold pieces, where does the seller dispose of that kind of coinage? What local government is even minting such vast amounts of currency?..

[DCC] is not an attempt to model an experience related to D&D but rather an attempt to model an experience that predated D&D... step back one era further... beyond the confines of genre assumptions... [emphasis mine]

Always describe a monster using physical characteristics. Let players learn the capabilities and characteristics of monsters through experience... they should name them, not you.

A key element of player experience in [DCC] is a sense of wonderment... that was so easy to achieve when we were children who did not know all the rules...

WEIRD DICE

Then there's the Weird Dice you just ordered, sitting on your kitchen table. Lumpy, futuristic d5 and d7, novelty-size d30, etc. You don't quite know what they're for. They're anachronistic; or they would be if you'd ever seen them before... just like the first time you ever played D&D. When you were a child and did not know all the rules.

DCC's stated aim (and it succeeds) is to replicate your very first experience of a fantasy roleplaying game. Then your second. Then your first campaign. Think about that for a second. Think about how much fun that was.

Remember learning to bring a thief next time? Remember learning what 'parley' meant? Remember learning to pit two hostile factions against one another? Remember learning these things by dying many, many times? DCC's got you covered, son! Holy crap will you die. Your characters will be written on index cards so as not to waste paper, scattered all around the table, dead PCs or raw recruits mustered to the wholesale slaughter of your evening's adventure. You will die and die, until you (re)learn to actually value your player's life, (or at least the one with OK stats) until you (re)learn the one thing this system respects: Creativity. This is as it should be.

The mechanics of the game and it's signature insistence on random tables for damn near everything are thoroughly covered in other reviews, so I'll skip describing them here, save to say they play fast and they ensure the sense of surprise and unpredictability that is baked into every part of this system. Ditto the generous amount of artwork that graces the book's pages.

The low-volume sexism I could do without. Describing difficulty check 10 as "a Man's Work", drawings of women entering combat in swimsuits is something that I'd prefer not to have to hide from women in my group so I don't have to watch their enthusiasm for this game wilt. I don't want to have to watch anyone I play with realize this game wasn't meant for them, it's too good a game, it should be inclusive on principle. Carrying the spirit of 1974 fantasy adventuring forward doesn't necessitate carrying the exclusivity of 1974 fantasy adventuring forward, and I prefer re-experiencing my first RPG than re-experiencing my first stirrings of puberty upon seeing a Frank Frazetta cover on a Conan story collection. Nothing wrong with cheesecake, but that's not why I'm here, and neither's my group, and jumping into medieval combat in a bikini is dumb and unworthy of a game that finds excessive medieval coinage unrealistic.

The two DCC modules I own (both written by DCC rockstar Harley Stroh) are fantastic: scary, mean, and full of surprises. They're so good at what they do that I have little to no inclination to come up with my own adventures. Smart move on Goodman's part. Another delightful thing about these modules is that they encourage player handouts, as do the excessive tables from the core book that spellcasters and clerics are obliged to use. Black and white handouts just ooze that graph paper and constantly snapping mechanical pencil feel. They help

I just want to add a little bit to the comment I made about using DCC RPG as the Heart of my fantasy gaming from here on out. I have added D&D style Wisdom ability scores to split DCC's Personality ability in two parts I find best separated. I'm using D&D's peerless 5e Monster Manual. I used the free Dungeon World supplement Funnel World (available on this website) to add player bonds, consensus about the area, and local color before shoving 15 PCs into Stroh's 0-level adventure Sailors on the Starless Sea (the guard tower in particular is memorably horrifying).

So other systems I know do things better, but nothing I know of gets the spirit of fantasy RPGing righter than DCC RPG, or can make it feel fresher or more alive. For me, it's a kick in the pants, gasoline on the fire, and a call to arms to carry forward the spirit of all that is best about the practice of tabletop fantasy gaming.

In the time it took you to read this, you could've bought it already and be googling 'Zocchi Dice'.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Julio M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2016 12:35:11

Indeed the most astonishing game in the market.

Richly illustrated, with a system easy enough to introduce to new players, and complex enough to keep veterans playing. With such tasteful text, this is the most memorable game in my collection.

A game that teaches all the players the value of life and death through a zero level funnel, and teaches ththat magic is no toy as you will see with spellburn, mercurial magic and corruption, two amazing mechanics in game ever created.

Completely worth buying.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Dave R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2015 12:09:41

I haven't had a chance to play this yet, but it's a fascinating example of how the OSR movement has brought new life to the hobby. I love the ideas, though I'm not entirely thrilled by the prices of the new dice it needs.

Looking forward to trying it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2015 13:45:21

Probably my favourite classic Old School RPG, DCC delivers a great feel for fantastic adventures. You can easily adapt it to any (fantasy) setting you like but for me it works best in a low magic sword & sorcery setting. Magic is powerful and rather rare, at the same time weird and sometimes hard to control - but it's easy to change whatever aspect doesn't suite your style of play.

Still, I think it works great "as is" to capture the feel of classic RPG's (I started with D&D 1e), with a brutal beginning for 0-level characters who are forced through the "funnel" with most of them probably dying - but those who survive already have a story to tell and we felt that it is a lot due to this character funnel that we identified with our characters, even though they were not always the ones we originally wanted to survive. But despite some mediocre or bad stats, despite stupid names (we rolled them all) and despite or maybe because they started out as peasants and swine herders with a stick and the instinct to run rather than fight, our characters felt more real than in many other games.

I prefer the attributes over the "classic" D20 ones with Wisdom and Charisma merged into Personality, and Luck being added. I like the special abilities of each class, making them stand out without being overly complicated (unless you're a wizard, some of those rules still seem rather complicated to me, but I'm the dwarf, so what do I know?).

Now the cons: the special dice as they're expensive (especially if imported and you have to pay for shipping too) and rare. Of course you can substitute them with regular dice but it doesn't feel the same (for me). A minor drawback in my opinion is the lack of a table chapter containing the most important tables in compact form. Having to flip through the book every time to check for fumbles and critical hits isn't that great. Then again it's easy to compile a cheat sheet or table booklet if you have the PDF or a scanner. Still, I'd have liked to find this prepared for quicker and easier play.

Despite these small drawbacks I can only recommend this if you are a fan of old school RPG's, as the pros clearly outweigh the cons.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Jason W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2015 12:07:33

It was enjoyable. I really liked the fact that it felt like old school AD&D. The only real problem I had were the Elves being allergic to iron because it doesn't make sense. You can't carve out a civilization if you're allergic to the tools required.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Joel W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2014 21:19:07

This game is Dungeons and Dragons turned up to 11! This heavy-metal flavored fantasy game is what Gygax and Arneson would have written if they had 30 years of RPG game design under their belt in 1974.

The Third Edition of D&D (the same edition that Pathfinder is based on) is the underpinning to this thrill ride. Some of the awesome OSR flavor that this game oozes:

  • 3d6 in order stat generation. No swaps, no rolling 4d6, no mulligans.
  • High PC mortality. Everyone starts with 4 PCs, with the assumption a few will die during the 1st adventure.
  • Each arcane magic spell is customized per wizard using the Mercurial Magic rules.
  • Every spell has its own d20 based chart the spellcaster rolls on to determine effect, with higher spell rolls producing bigger, more powerful effects.
  • Powerful demi-gods and demons that take a direct interest in the PCs. The PCs may choose to Bond with these Patrons.
  • Charisma stat is replaced with Luck stat that PCs can (permanently!) burn to make important rolls.
  • Amazing adventure support that keeps the PCs on their toes. No boring empty rooms, bland orc fights, or lame 2000 copper treasures.
  • Righteous GM advice to run engaging and fantastic games.
  • Classic style art all throughout the nearly 500 page tome. Each picture is a dozen adventures! :)
  • Moar dice! Uses standard polyhedrals plus d3, d5, d7, d14. d16, d24, and d30 in a brilliant dice chain mechanic.

I chose this game over Pathfinder, DnD Next, and 13th Age. It gets to the core of what I love without giant skill lists or feat trees. Buy this game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Publisher: Goodman Games
by David F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/18/2014 14:17:00

DCC is one of those systems that'll primarily appeal to all the 40 something people who remember the early RPG games of old and crave for a concise system that takes what is embedded in their long term grey cells and stimulate them enough to start gaming again. Personally I've read many systems and played most of them over my 35 year gaming life and DCC has to rate as one of my all time favourite's.

If you're used to the D&D and AD&D systems c.30 years ago, there is much here that is familiar, but all done in a refreshingly retro style. Goodman Games have created an atmosphere as well which comes through as you delve through the pages and I for one couldn't wait to try out the ideas presented in the book. I especially like the strict '3D6 in the order you've rolled them' character creation system. Indeed, my regular troop of player were very 'on edge' for their first 0 level session, which despite the 70% loss of characters, they all thoroughly enjoyed enough to make the investment in the system.

I cannot recommend this fun system enough for oldies like myself as well as making an excellent introductory system for newbies too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Patrick D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2014 03:35:54

This game really hit a nerve with me; I found the balance of light mechanics and ingenious mods to a very stripped down 3rd Ed base the perfect balance of old and new.

Yes, there are a good number of tables that you might need to reference for spells, fumbles, crits and deeds...I actually like this...print them off and make each player responsible for one each and you're sorted!

On another note, the philosophy of character death has already changed my group's attitude and style of play so that they now respect the consequences of their actions far more. The philosophy is that death should be a real risk to PCs; for too long I have watched parties act stupidly and get away with it...no longer!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Publisher: Goodman Games
by James L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2014 08:21:38

Even for the artwork alone, DCC is worth purchasing. I had extremely high hopes for this game, and for many items it hits the sweet spot (ascending AC, 3-save system, etc.). I think the magic system could be toned down a bit, and I'm not a huge fan of the funky dice. We already have plenty of dice to use.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Scott D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2013 00:00:00

I have been looking for something new, but I cannot stand d20 and the D&D 3.0; 3.5; 4.0; D&DNext and blah de blah Prestige Classes/never ending expansion of game system, with its quantum leaps in power every level. This is the ultimate in munchkin/monty haul. And, it gets no fun, fast.

THIS game system is familiar to old school gamers, but with lots of new twists. Cool spin on magic, cool spin on Critical Hits and Fumbles, everything. Everything in one, long, beefy book. No needless complexity, but crunchy complexity where it is needed.

I just bought the Rules and read them, and I am trying to get my group to convert from a retro 1st Ed AD&D game we just started. These rules allow a player to ANYTHING in combat, but flexibly and intuitively and quickly., but in a way which makes sense and seems fair.

Its a different approach that feels familiar, fast to play, and I am pretty excited. Best new rules I've read in a LONG time. Well done, Goodman Games! Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 33 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back