Goodman Games
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Goodman Games
PDF E-Book Store
Hosted by RPGNow.com



Home » Goodman Games » Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG » Reviews
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Sewer Map-Tiles - The Druid's Trees
Publisher: Black Scrolls Games
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2018 13:45:43

Excellent set of map-tiles that are beautifully rendered and very evocative! Although not entirely modular, there are several combinations of tiles that should provide for multiple maps that can be built with this set.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sewer Map-Tiles - The Druid's Trees
Click to show product description

Add to Goodman Games Order

6"x6" Map-Tile Tuck Box
Publisher: Black Scrolls Games
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 16:40:11

Great way to store your printed tiles! I would love it if Black Scrolls Games allowed a form-fillable version so that I could use the same tuck box with a label for my other tile sets from other publishers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
6"x6" Map-Tile Tuck Box
Click to show product description

Add to Goodman Games Order

3 in 1 Dungeon Master Assistant Pack
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 16:00:52

A good resource for DMs. I attach the improved DM Screen to my 5E WOTC one (the original version which is not very useful).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
3 in 1 Dungeon Master Assistant Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Goodman Games Order

Stock Art - The Barbarian
Publisher: Middle Kingdoms Adventure & Trading Co.
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 15:57:12

Good, stylized stock art at a reasonable price. I bought a copy to include on my 5E character sheet. While I could easily find lots of images with a Google search, I like to support artists and their work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art - The Barbarian
Click to show product description

Add to Goodman Games Order

DUSK Character Sheet (Printer Friendly)
Publisher: Frenzy Kitty Games
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 15:39:58

Cool, clear character sheet. I would suggest changing the Name, Player, etc. entries to the same font as everything else.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DUSK Character Sheet (Printer Friendly)
Click to show product description

Add to Goodman Games Order

DUSK Mega Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Frenzy Kitty Games
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 15:38:10

I've written separate reviews for the components of this bundle. As an overall evaluation of Dusk, I would say it is a great first-start. The artwork is really evocative and grabbed me as soon as I saw it. I like the rules-light nature of the game. I've never played a dice-stacking game, but it looks like an interesting mechanic, although I'm not sure d8s are the way to go since most people have plenty of d6s and it seems the game would work with them too. I don't think the game is fully fleshed-out, however. The biggest gap is having nothing detailed regarding equipment. I strongly encourage the designer to develop a version 2 that fills in the gaps.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DUSK Mega Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Goodman Games Order

DUSK: Tribe Toolkit
Publisher: Frenzy Kitty Games
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 15:34:22

Very cool art on the cover, but this document is merely a bunch of guiding questions for creating different Tribes or Factions in the Dusk Post-Apocalyptic RPG. I would recommend giving examples for each of the questions to help flesh this out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DUSK: Tribe Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to Goodman Games Order

Medicine Run: A DUSK One-Shot Adventure
Publisher: Frenzy Kitty Games
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 15:31:55

Interesting scenario, but like the basic rules of Dusk, I think it is too much a brief sketch and needs more specificity. For example, the addition of a map would be really useful and help to envision the scenario. Also, the formatting of the document does not lend itself to printing. I would encourage a revision that is printer-friendly. Very cool art and aesthetic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Medicine Run: A DUSK One-Shot Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Goodman Games Order

INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 15:13:55

ICRPG is a unique RPG rules system that is a mixture of a rules-light version of D&D 5E mixed with additional sources of inspiration (Dungeon World and Dungeon Crawl Classics among others) that reflects Brandish Gilhelm's (AKA Hankerin Ferinale) house-rules when he was playing his 5E campaign along with additional evolution as he continues to survey the tabletop RPG field in book form and in dialogue with players, game masters, and game designers. I suspect GURPS also had a long-lasting impact on Hankerin's vision for tabletop RPGs since ICRPG is not solely a fantasy setting. In the core book you get fantasy (Alfheim), sci-fi (Warpshell), and weird western (Ghost Mountain) versions of classes and races as well as adventure hooks for all three. The core book is filled with Hankerin's evocative art and the basic layout of the book reflects the same artistic vision. I think I see other influences at play (for example, the adventure hooks follow the same style as Mike Evans's Hubris).

I've never played ICRPG, though I hope to soon. There are some things I would quibble with--I like the advantage mechanic from 5E. I feel it's similar to DCC's gameplay and philosophy that rolling more dice is just plain fun. I'm not convinced that a single DC for a room/encounter is a great idea. I don't like the meta-gaming aspect of a constantly displayed DC.

Even if you don't have any interest in a new or different rules system, ICRPG is worthwhile for the extensive discussion of game mastering tips regarding encounters. I've used a number of these tips (many of which are featured in videos on the Runehammer Youtube Channel) in my 5E campaign. I would recommend buying the pdf version as it contains all of the updates since version 1 was released.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Click to show product description

Add to Goodman Games Order

Dyson Logos' Fifth Edition Character Sheets
Publisher: ZERObarrier
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 14:21:10

Awesome alternative to the bland character sheets from WOTC. Don't overlook the importance of a nice looking character sheet since you spend a good deal of time referring to your sheet during a session. These hand-drawn sheets help to spark the imagination for your 5E games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dyson Logos' Fifth Edition Character Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to Goodman Games Order

Maze Game Bundle 1 [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Fishwife Games
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 14:15:12

I wrote reviews of Micro-Maze Adventures separately, but I strongly recommend this bundle. Solo gaming is fun when you need to scratch that gaming itch and you don't have anyone to play with or you're in between gaming sessions. These are very well conceived!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Maze Game Bundle 1 [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Goodman Games Order

Dusk
Publisher: Frenzy Kitty Games
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 14:12:29

Interesting rules-light post-apocalyptic RPG. I loved the concept but think the designer should flesh this out more like a starting equipment guide (as well as equipment tables and functions). The artwork is very evocative. The basic setting is too briefly sketched but very intriguing. The formatting of the pages is too sparse--I'd never print it out on paper because it wastes so much space (if a revised version were made, I would suggest changing the formatting or at least offering a print-friendly version that condenses the material on fewer pages). I really hope the designer returns to this RPG and expands on its weaknesses. Also, I'm not certain that d8s offer a meaningful difference mechanics-wise than d6s for dice stacking.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dusk
Click to show product description

Add to Goodman Games Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for the review. A deluxe and greatly expanded 2nd edition is on the cards for later this year. :)
Kev's Lounge Paper Minis: Touched by Darkness
Publisher: Kev's Lounge
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 13:58:10

Kevin makes my all-time favorite paper miniatures figures. This is a great set for various villians. In my 5E campaign, I've used the drow included here in one encounter. And while I like Kevin's basing system, these days I've switched to using Litko clear plastic bases because that way my base always fits my terrain.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kev's Lounge Paper Minis: Touched by Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to Goodman Games Order

Inked Adventures Stock Art Parchment Pages and Clawed Paper
Publisher: Inked Adventures
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 13:54:58

These parchment sheets are great for writing letters/notes to use as props in your RPG campaigns!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inked Adventures Stock Art  Parchment Pages and Clawed Paper
Click to show product description

Add to Goodman Games Order

Fifth Edition Fantasy #1: Glitterdoom
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 13:48:57

Cool, well-conceived adventure for 5E that introduces some new monsters and makes for a substantial side adventure to a campaign. The underlying plot of the Glitterdoom could be expanded into a greater storyline in a campaign if desired.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Fantasy #1: Glitterdoom
Click to show product description

Add to Goodman Games Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 55 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG